top of page

The best of portuguese handmade craft


This weekend I went with my parents to a very cute craft market in the heart of Lisbon. Everything was handmade. This market made me smile because I found so many products inspired on my culture. I think when you’re living abroad for a long period you start to feel more connected to your origins. That’s what happened with this market, I saw myself in the little things that were around.

These craft pieces were inspired in the traditional Portuguese symbols, combining the old and the modern. I found mostly accessories like purses, backpacks, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, watches, etc. In the case you're in Lisbon and you want to have a look at this market: it happens every first sunday of the month at the CCB (Belém Cultural Centre).


My favourite products were the ones inspired in the typical porcelain tiles (“Azulejos” in portuguese). Porcelain tiles already exist in Portugal for five centuries and have arabic roots. The technique of the tiles production was improved by portuguese artisans creating the beautiful porcelain that we find nowadays. The “azulejos” in Portugal were used in house decoration inside and out. I leave some pictures with accessories inspired on the portuguese porcelain tiles.


The places online where you can order these products are: Átrio, Edições 19 de Abril and Lusa Design.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The next products are cork based. These are also so popular. Portugal oak-tree plantations represent 32% of the whole ammount of oak-tree plantations in the world.


I love the design of the products I show you above. You can find those in: Singular by tradition, Cork Design and Alma Nostra.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The last ones I want to show you are the filigree jewlery. In the north of Portugal there's a town that has a famous symbol called "Corações de Viana" (Viana hearts). Today you can find these jewels almost everywhere in Lisbon. Have a look at the pics!


I hope you enjoyed the accessories ideas and to to get to know a bit more about the portuguese culture :)

Mariana

Life in petals

by  Mariana

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

About me

Mariana. In love with music, fan of to do lists. Yoga practicioner and crazy about chocolate. Welcome to my world of duality. I share tips and tools for a balanced and healthy life style.

Mail
Follow me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
Instagram
Categories
Search in the blog

© 2023 por Desenho à Mão por Alexandre. Orgulhosamente criado com Wix.com

bottom of page