top of page

Changing habits - internal conflict

Yes, I know I've talked about habits and how to create a new habit needs to be about self-discipline and going little by little, which I continue to think the same way as before. But this time I want to explain why I think that gaining a new habit comes by an inner feeling.


This last week I've been practicing my personal yoga sequence in the late afternoon. Previously I was practicing in the morning after I woke up but I realized it has been hard since in the morning I'm not completely awaken, my body and mind are also not feeling completly pleased on stretching and trying to keep focused. Maybe I was trying to pratice in the morning because I thought it was the best. I thought...


What I wanted to say is recently I've started to practice Yoga in the afternoon when I was feeling it. It was during a session when I've realized that when I say to myself: "you should practice everyday", "you should because it's healthy", you should... it's when my body and mind are not there. And it starts an internal conflict about what I should do and how I feel about it. Let's be honest nobody is motivated to do stuff because they should. And everybody knows which habit they should change to become healthier, for example, changing diet. We all know but must of the times we just don't get there.


I know that talking about inner feelings is not very easy and can become very little concrete but I can give my perspective on that. I feel when there's a should there's weight, I feel heaviness. When I do things because I feel it I somehow feel lighter, there's space. I don't know if I could help but if so I invite you to write a short list about the habits you would like to change and which beliefs and feelings are behind it, why you would like to change those habits. Then look at the list and see if there's a weight or lightness.

(This post is not about advising you not doing other things on your life just because you don't want to or just doing things if you feel like.) This is only a perspective on why habits are not always easy to change because of an internal conflict and how we can smooth this conflict if we understand it.


Life in petals

by  Mariana

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

About me

Mariana. In love with music, fan of to do lists. Yoga practicioner and crazy about chocolate. Welcome to my world of duality. I share tips and tools for a balanced and healthy life style.

Mail
Follow me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
Instagram
Categories
Search in the blog
bottom of page